jump to navigation

Consistency through [lack of] gears February 7, 2009

Posted by misfire in Bike Log.
trackback

I often find myself gearing up as I ride down a hill to squeeze out every bit of speed possible. Then I find myself drained as i head up the hext hill.

A week or two ago, I rode home most of the way in the same gear. It was refreshing to not fuss with gears and just concentrate on pedaling.  Some of the uphills were a little tougher, but I found that I was saving myself on the downhill’s and it compensated pretty well.  I picked a gear that worked pretty well overall (I thought). No way I could have done the initial hill in that gear, but that’s a different story entirely.

Now I’m considering moving to singles speed (SS) or even going to flip-flop fixie on the rear wheel.  But that will take a little while it it happens at all. Need to test gears and routes a bit more first.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

